Released on November 1st via Starlite Sound, Half Keys is the new ten-track studio recording from Brooklyn, NY-based, folk-Americana group, The Morning Sea. The album, the band’s fourth, follows 2018’s Destruction Songs, 2016’s Mal De Mer, and 2014’s Strange Captive. Half Keys was produced and engineered by Sonny Ratcliff, mixed by Andy Baldwin, and mastered by Fred Kevorkian. Accompanying the recent release is the video for the single “Mad in Berlin,” which can be viewed below.

Commenting on the video clip’s origins, vocalist and guitarist Adam Cohen, noted, “The first track on the record, ‘Mad in Berlin,’ is the beginning of a journey. It’s about the simultaneous excitement and anxiety of exploring a new love in a new place. There’s an air of adventure and freedom, and an optimism that’s still slightly blanketed in a wary sense of the struggle on the horizon. The accompanying music video, directed and edited by Sonny Ratcliff, tries to capture this mood through a mix of joyful and melancholy images of frontman Adam Cohen, the band, and others traveling through an urban landscape. It features actual footage taken during the band’s travels through Berlin.”

The Morning Sea, which also includes members Sonny Ratcliff (bass, banjo, guitar, mandolin, melodica, accordion), Andrew Nesbitt (drums, percussion, harmonica), Andy Baldwin (violin), Bobby McCullough (double bass), and Kelly Wolfgramm (backing vocals), recorded Half Keys at Ratcliff’s Brooklyn bedroom, in mostly first or second takes using entirely acoustic instruments.

Artwork for ‘Half Keys’ by The Morning Sea

Publisher, CEO, and Co-Founder - Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.