Are you sure those riffs are big enough? Ok then… Don’t say we didn’t ask. Death metal group VHS are emerging “From The Murky Depths” with their brand new lyric video from their third record, We’re Gonna Need Some Bigger Riffs. The album will be released on July 26th and can be pre-ordered now, via Rotten Roll Rex and HPGD.

With a tongue pinned right against that cheek (no, not that one), the trio explore through the murky depths with their latest album. We’re talking sea monsters, killer whales and scary creatures firmly out for blood that make up most of the lyrical content on this release. Released via Rotten Roll Rex (compact disc) and HPGD Productions (digital), We’re Gonna Need Some Bigger Riffs is yet another instance of a talented group remaining true to their diversity, yet catchiness, grabbing parts of death metal, punk rock and hair metal to create fourteen standout tracks.

And this album has guests too! On the midtempo “Rooting For The Villain,” you’ll hear none other than the snarls of The Black Dahlia Murder’s Trevor Strnad, plus Matt Harvey from Exhumed gets in on the action on “Death and Carnage Coming In Waves.” Harvey also created the record’s opening orchestral introduction. Regarding “From The Murky Depths” specifically, guitarist and vocalist Mike mentioned, “For the first time, VHS visits the classic era of Universal Monsters. ‘From the Murky Depths’ is a tribute to the creature from the Black Lagoon movie series, telling the tale of the violent awakening of a long forgotten prehistoric monster. This is one of my favorite songs from the new album as it takes the band into some new territory. One of the most blast-filled songs from the album and it also features some of the grooviest riffs we’ve tackled to date. Be careful though it might get stuck in your head like an errant harpoon!”

Also featuring Trevor Strnad, here’s the official music video for “Rooting For The Villain,” another key track on We’re Gonna Need Some Bigger Riffs:

You may wonder why VHS shares their name with a now extinct medium for home entertainment… Inspired by the unique, nasty and at many times ridiculous films of the 1980s, VHS is a tribute to that very first time you witnessed Jason Voorhees striking an unsuspecting victim and that first instance when you saw Freddy Krueger crack a one-liner. The band is a tribute to ‘80s horror, film and that general subculture of the time. You’ll hear all of this and more within the context of the group’s lyrical content which will remind you of perusing the horror-themed section of a 1980s video store. Don’t worry though, with all that horror comes a great sense of humour that pokes a good deal of fun at it all. So VHS is coming for you, perhaps even in the dark. Don’t say we didn’t give you a firm warning!

We’re Gonna Need Some Bigger Riffs Track Listing:

01. Full Scream Ahead (Intro)
02. Zombie Vs. Shark
03. Let’s Get Gruesome
04. Voracious and Violent
05. Rooting for the Villain (feat. Trevor Strnad)
06. An Old Lady and Her Crocodile
07. Oozing, Bubbling Black Mass
08. Death and Carnage Coming in Waves (feat. Matt Harvey)
09. Savage Streets
10. Face Full of Worms
11. Bringer of Death
12. From the Murky Depths
13. Cruise Ship Carnage
14. Marine Monstrosity

Check out the totally killer cover artwork for We’re Gonna Need Some Bigger Riffs, out on July 26th: