Inspired by the volatile and liberating melody fueled noise of bands such as Hole, The Distillers, Nirvana and PJ Harvey, Yorkshire band Hands Off Gretel are set to release their I Want The World album this coming March 29th via the bands own label Puke Pop Records.

The perfect soundtrack of sugar-coated grunge-punk allowing vocalist Lauren to vent and rail against the issues of body image, mental health, celebrity, childhood and loneliness she felt enraged by, all of which were addressed from a fiercely female, unapologetic, feminist perspective.

Ahead of the release the band have posted a high-energy new video for the album’s title track that sees the band performing on a skate park and perfectly encapsulates the songs infectious energy.

“”I Want The World” is a song about how I’ve always felt since I was young,” explains Lauren. “It’s me pouting like a child and saying “no! I want more than what this world is going to give me.”. I channel Veruca Salt from Charlie and The Chocolate Factory when I sing it. I am being obstreperous and impossible like a child, kicking and screaming until I get what I want.”

I Want The World Track Listing:

01. Kiss Me Girl
02. S.A.S.S
03. Big Boy
04. It’s My Fault
05. I Want The World
06. Blame Myself
07. Alien
08. Freaks Like Us
09. Milk
10. Fingers
11. My Friend Said
12. Rot (All The Good Things)

Tour Dates:

04/06 – Brighton – Hope & Ruin
06/20 – Sheffield – Café Totem
04/26 – Glasgow – Broadcast
04/27 – Edinburgh – Edinburgh


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.