Since their formation now over forty years ago, X has maintained a loyal fan base. While they enjoyed a short-lived romp on a fleeting wave of radio stardom and MTV-generated commercial success back in the early ‘80s, the Los Angeles-based quartet’s mainstay has been playing kickass shows year after year.

For the 500 or so who came out to fill up the Observatory on a Thursday night, all in attendance were well-taken care of. X (with friendly support from openers Los Lobos and The Blasters) played a set of definitive songs, with their typical flair and improvisation. Original members Exene Cervenka (vocals), John Doe (bass), Billy Zoom (guitar/saxophone), and DJ Bonebrake (drums, percussion) convey genuine camaraderie onstage and they pass it onto the crowd to which each party feeds off of.

X’s Setlist:

01. Beyond and Back
02. In This House That I Call Home
03. Because I Do
04. It’s Who You Know
05. We’re Desperate
06. Breathless
07. The New World
08. Year One
09. True Love
10. Come Back to Me
11. Dancing With Tears in My Eyes
12. The Hungry Wolf
13. The World’s a Mess; It’s in My Kiss
14. The Unheard Music
15. I Must Not Think Bad Thoughts
16. Los Angeles
17. Your Phone’s Off the Hook, But You’re Not
18. Johnny Hit and Run Paulene
19. Motel Room in My Bed
20. Soul Kitchen
21. Sugarlight
22. Nausea