Connect with us

Album Review

Trollwar – “Oath Of The Storm” [Album Review]

Trollwar’s Oath of the Storm proudly waves the folk-metal banner and suggests this band is destined for truly great things.



As a pretty big fan of the folk-metal genre, I was quite eager to give Trollwar’s Oath of the Storm a spin. To me, folk-metal is a hit or miss genre; there are big heavyweights like Korpiklaani and Ensiferum that pretty much knock it out of the park every time, and then there quite a few who seem to miss the mark totally. When I popped this one in and got past the almost obligatory intro, I was immediately greeted with mid-paced, simple style rock beats and chunky guitar.

“Summoning” really set the pace for me as the powerful, catchy melodies are like an earworm burrowing into your skull. Moving further into the disc, I was more than impressed at the band’s ability to seamlessly – and, I think, successfully – combine guttural growls with melodic riffs. It is no small feat to make this work and Trollwar really hit the mark.

The whole record is an adventure; the sequencing flows well from song to song and is bumpered nicely by an intro that sets the mood, plus an outro that gently brings things to a close, returning the listener safely back to their respective realities. At the end of the day, I definitely think Trollwar is onto something here; they are proudly waving the folk-metal banner and are destined for big things.

Oath of the Storm Track Listing:

01. Intro
02. Summoning
03. Into Shadows
04. The Forsaken One
05. In Defiance
06. Hymn for the Vanquished
07. Forgotten
08. Omens of Victory
09. Home of the Forbidden Lore
10. Shores of Madness
11. Winter’s Night
12. Outro

Run Time: 55:01
Release Date: November 16, 2018
Record Label: Trollwar

Be your bold self and follow Trollwar “Into Shadows”.