Having been around since 2015, it’s surprising that From States Away, a 5-piece pop-punk band from New York, are not yet on people’s radars. After releasing their debut EP, 2015’s We’re All Lost Too, they went on to draw a strong local following throughout the North East, which led to securing a prestigious slot on that year’s Vans Warped Tour. That momentum seems to have faded, though, possibly connected with 2016’s lacklustre EP Hypervigilant. After some time spent honing their live shows and writing new material, 2018 sees a return to action with their third EP, I Swear This Light Won’t Fade.

The anthemic lead single “Night and Day” immediately diffuses any doubts about a good time listening. Strong catchy vocal hooks which are guaranteed to stick in your head for days, polished well by returning producer Chris Piquet, is a sure-fire winner to kick off the 12-minute blast. The upbeat “Elm Street” is more middle-of-the-road, following a typical punk rock formula, and is probably the EP’s least captivating track, but it’s quickly forgotten by the brilliance of closing cut “Stalling Out”, showing great passion and melodies which differentiate them from other bands in this particularly crowded genre.

Check out the band’s new single “Night & Day” taken from the forthcoming EP I Swear This Light Won’t Fade.

A theme which also runs throughout this record is well-constructed guitar work, contrasting clean melodies with big distorted pop-punk riffs, whilst vocalist Chris Lauletti impresses with angsty lyrics expelled with a brutal and passionate honesty. Standout track is the superb “Hair”, with its Midwestern emo vibes which draw distinct comparisons to stalwarts such as All-American Rejects, Knuckle Puck and The Wonder Years.

Although only 4 tracks, I Swear This Light Won’t Fade shines through with sheer determination, packs a good punch, and deserves to be heard. There may have been a dip for a couple of years, but From States Away are back with a vengeance, ready to conquer more territory.

I Swear This Light Won’t Fade Track Listing:

01. Night & Day
02. Hair
03. Elm Street
04. Stalling Out

Run Time: 12:08
Release Date: December 7, 2018
Record Label: Self-released