You Me at Six have been enjoying ten years of mainstream success as one of the UK’s leading pop-punk bands. However, after amassing an impressive fanbase, last year’s Night People did little to wow fans and critics, and even the band themselves have expressed dissatisfaction with it. Now, with the release of VI, they seek to reclaim their status and re-cement the infectious style they are known for.

While each song on the new record has something to say, there are three highlights that stand out on initial spins. VI’s opening track “Fast Forward” demonstrates the guys’ grasp of dynamics, bouncing between chilled and hypnotic to fast and heavy. Meanwhile, “Back Again” sees them put the “pop” in pop-punk in a groovy, upbeat tune with a chorus that you can sing and dance to within moments – it is virtually impossible to feel down when this song is playing.

In a similar vein, “3AM” is another pop-rock delight, where a short drum n’ bass beat paves the way for serious groove. The riffs are sugar for your ears and the drums hold the whole tune together so well – Flint shows a good ear for the right rhythm. Across the whole record, the musical chemistry shines through – along with the work of Dan Austin as producer – and provides a platform for Josh Franceschi’s echoing vocals that tell of moving on, never giving up, and not letting people drag you back.

Yep, this band is certainly “Back Again”!

Each track on this album, whilst maintaining a common similarity, still showcase a different vibe, and not one can be mistaken for another. You Me At Six have clearly bounced back from their setbacks, and believe me when I say that VI is well worth your time!

VI Track Listing:

01. Fast Forward
02. Straight to My Head
03. Back Again
04. Miracle in the Mourning
05. 3AM
06. I O U
07. Prey for Me
08. Predictable
09. Danger
10. Losing You

Run Time: 33:54
Release Date: October 5, 2018
Record Label: Underdog Records