The UK has had its fair share of commercial success over the years with alternative rock bands including the likes of Biffy Clyro, You Me At Six, Don Broco and Young Guns all gaining chart success to varying degrees. What’s become apparent, there is now a new kid on the block in the form of Surrey pop-rockers Seasonal. The quartet have shone brightly since forming in 2016, going onto self-release their debut EP titled Bloom which deservedly attracted interest from independent label Undead Collective Records who wasted no time signing them for the eagerly awaited sophomore EP Weathered.

Capitalising on the emotive and heartfelt pop-rock sound displayed so brilliantly on Bloom, this 5 track EP shows a much more mature and structured approach to songwriting, highlighted with vigour on upbeat opener “Strangers”, which isn’t afraid to combine punked-up rhythms with vast emotional choruses, a theme which continues on the superb anthemic radio-friendly single “Honesty”, a solid standout track on this record.

Frontman and bassist Matt Truseler is outstanding throughout, in particular on tracks such as “Drift”, displaying a great vocal delivery, whilst anchoring the band with solid driven bass lines. Drummer Alex Tickner displays a wealth of talent with a big rock drum sound honed by producer Oz Craggs (Mallory Knox, Neck Deep, Feed The Rhino), whilst the twin guitar rhythms and vocal harmonies of Max O’Neill and Alex Coombes channel high gloss summery vibes and up-tempo grooves, drawing comparisons to bands such as Jimmy Eat World, Deaf Havana and The Xcerts.

Watch the video to the anthemic hit “Honesty” here.

Both “High & Dry” and closing track “Twelve” prove that this is an act that is writing from the heart, documenting life experiences and channelling deeply personal feelings through their music with great success. This is a sound which is by no means new, there are similarities and influences to the aforementioned bands here which is hard to ignore, but Seasonal have embraced that and are delivering their own feel-good take on emotive pop-rock, with positive strong results.

Weathered Track Listing:

01. Strangers
02. Honestly
03. Drift
04. High & Dry
05. Twelve

Run Time: 17:55
Release Date: October 12, 2018
Record Label: Undead Collective Records