Self-proclaimed fashion-art rock band, Palaye Royale have accomplished a lot since their incarnation; Multiple stints on Warped Tour, opening for the likes of Andy Black and Good Charlotte. It’s safe to say they haven’t been doing much wrong.

The trio (consisting of brothers Remington Leigh, Sebastian Danzig and Emerson Barrett), will be dropping their second full-length, Boom Boom Room (Side B), the follow-up to their 2016 debut of the same name, on September 28th. While it is definitely an improvement from their first release, production-wise and song quality in general, there is still some work that needs to be done.

Personally, I have had a very difficult time getting into this band. As much respect as I have for their attempt to bring back the old school rock ‘n‘ roll sound, there are so many layers to this group and so many various projects that it feels like the music isn’t getting the attention it deserves from the very people making it.

After the first few listens, I thought this album was a mess. Over time, the songs start to blend together, but almost to the point that they sound too similar.

Here’s “Teenage Heartbreak Queen”, the latest video off of the new record.

The two lead singles released thus far, “Death Dance” and “You’ll Be Fine”, are true, catchy rock songs. Although these two singles made me a lot more excited for the release, it now seems that they have already given away the two best songs before fans even get their hands on the whole package. “Teenage Doors Of Heartbreak” can be vouched for to an extent, being a fast, catchy number, but it still doesn’t come at you as it should.

What Palaye Royale are trying to do is admirable, but unfortunately, they haven’t quite figured out how to make it stick out in a way that creates a cohesive, full-length album of songs.

Boom Boom Boom (Side B) Track Listing:

01. Death Dance
02. Teenage Heartbreak Queen
03. You’ll Be Fine
04. Dying In a Hot Tub
05. Mrs. Infamous (My Sweetness)
06. Hospital Beds
07. Love The Void
08. The Boom

Run Time: 27:00
Release Date: September 28, 2018
Record Label: Sumerian Records