We are proud to help premiere Brooklyn, New York-based band The Black Black’s brand new track “Midnight Expectation.” We are also proud to formally announce that the group’s new studio record, Gravity & Time, is set to drop on September 21st! Too bad we didn’t have a drum roll to go with that… well, I guess the song debut is pretty much the same, if not better. To coincide with the release of the record, the dudes will be playing a special, exclusive hometown show the week of the album’s release.

If you aren’t familiar with The Black Black, they specialize in dark, dance-oriented, synth-heavy post-punk that not only is inspired by the punk greats of the past but also ‘80s new wave/pop bands such as INXS and Duran Duran. Gravity & Time features ten tracks in total that feature a danceable, synthy sound and vibe that is led by snarling vocals provided by lead singer Jonathan Daily. Lush layers of guitars and buzzing synth top it all off to give you something to chill to but also something to dance to.

Gravity & Time Track Listing:

01. We Know You’re Just Pretending
02. Ego Inflator
03. We Can Ride
04. Midnight Expectation
05. I Wanna Love You
06. Another Man
07. I Wanna Destroy You
08. Waste Them All
09. Kingdom for the Passerby
10. The Things You Do

Photo Credit: Jeanette D. Moses

Hey you! “You Are My Personal Pronoun”. That is all.


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.