There’s nothing confusing about why Exile On Mainstream is issuing the debut album, Awaken, from German doomsters, Confusion Master. Due out on April 27th, the riff-heavy offering is oozing with low-end and lumbers along like a battle-hardened tank ready for war. Available via LP/CD pack and digital copies, Awaken will also see support from Japanese label Bonten Records via a CD-only version. Before you get your pre-order on RIGHT HERE, or via the usual suspects a la iTunes, Amazon, et al, click play on our debut of punchy the lead single “Reaper’s Fist”!

The four-piece band — which includes bassist Mathias Klein, drummer Stephan Gottwald, guitarist Gunnar Arndt and frontman Stephan Kurth — began touring and was able to share the stage with notable acts the likes of Dopethrone, Crowskin, Bongzilla, Beehoover, and labelmates Black Shape Of Nexus. It was this constant gigging and practise, not to mention the members’ work with countless other local underground acts, that eventually led to the Awaken debut. Armed with over forty minutes of new music, Confusion Master are also set to bring their noise to a venue near you. After a hometown release show on May 5th, the mench will hit Japan for a short run in May with European dates to come!

Awaken Track Listing:

01. Witch Pollution
02. Northern Midnight Ghoul Dance
03. Reaper’s Fist
04. Goner Colony
05. In The Shadow Of The Bong
06. False Dawn
07. Awaken

Confusion Master Tour Dates:

05/05 – Plattnfischn Record Fair – Rostock, DE *Awaken release show
05/21 – Tokyo, JP
05/22 – Fujisawa, JP
05/23 – Gifu, JP
05/24 – Nagano, JP
05/25 – Niigata, JP
05/26 – Tokyo, JP


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.