An excellent new EP to look out for this May 4th is Your Laughter Never Leaves, from emo pop-punk band layover.. After a short hiatus, the Birmingham quartet is back, armed with five well-produced tracks set for release via Fox Records.

The title track, “Your Laughter Never Leaves,” is arguably the EP’s best; it’s upbeat and super-catchy, something you look for in a good pop-punk song. While lead single “Slumber” is a little more sombre, its lyrics are very meaningful and discuss the passing of lead singer Luke Rainsford’s mother. It is a lovely song and the lyrical content is touching. The other three cuts are also excellent, but I do find they fall a touch short in length. For instance, “Coffee and Fluoxetine” draws you in, finishes and then abruptly starts into “Hollow Me Out.”

While I do wish there were more than five new tunes from this band, I found myself listening to Your Laughter Never Leaves on repeat to fill my daily emo quota. Can’t wait for more musical fodder from these lads but, for now, what they have produced is top-notch and well worth a listen.

Your Laughter Never Leaves Track Listing:

01. Hunger Pains
02. Coffee and Fluoxetine
03. Hollow Me Out
04. Slumber
05. Your Laughter Never Leaves

Run Time: 13 minutes
Release Date: May 4, 2018

Sample some of the band’s new songs via the Fox Records Bandcamp embed here.