Connect with us


CANCER BATS Drop Surprise Sixth Album; Spit Out Venomous “Rattlesnake” Music Video [Exclusive Premiere]

Canadian metallic hardcore heavyweights Cancer Bats have surprised fans with a new album The Spark That Moves. We’re humbled to be premiering the music video for the venomous new track “Rattlesnake” right here…



Surprise!!! Toronto’s metallic hardcore heavyweights Cancer Bats have stunned fans by surprise-releasing a crushing new album The Spark That Moves. The album, Cancer Bats sixth, sees release through the band’s own label Bat Skull Records, in partnership with New Damage Records.

“We were just tired of waiting,” said frontman Liam Joseph Cormier. “We spent all of 2017 working hard on this album, all while playing shows and talking with our fans, who were constantly asking “when can we hear new music!?”. We figured why make anyone wait any longer, let’s just drop the entire new album all at once,” Cormier enthused. “I know as a fan, I just want to hear everything right away, let me buy the record right now! We figured, why not release our own music the way we want.”

To celebrate the release of this beast of a record, PureGrainAudio are humbled to be exclusively premiering the new music video for the venomous track “Rattlesnake”. One of eleven new songs from the band, the track, the shortest on the album, features a guest appearance from Jenna Priestner of Winnipeg punk duo, Mobina Galore.

Liam commented on the track saying: “This track is all about going against the grain and norms and forging our own path. So many of the things we’ve done as a band have gone against what should be done within the music industry and now, at 13 years, we look back and are so glad we just pushed forward and did things our own way. Sharing that sentiment is Jenna from Mobina Galore a band forging their own path and making no excuses for it.”

Over the coming months there will be plenty of other MASSIVE news coming out of the Cancer Bats camp starting with the band playing two shows tomorrow night at Lee’s Palace in Toronto. Both shows are Sold Out and form part of Cancer Bats 10 Years Of Hail Destroyer Canadian Tour which continues during May.

The Spark That Moves will be available in all formats and on all music sites for purchase and streaming by the time you are reading this. Physical product can be ordered RIGHT HERE. Get it into your ears as soon as you can.

10 Years of Hail Destroyer Canadian Tour Dates:

04/20 – Toronto, ON – Lee’s Palace – SOLD OUT
04/21 – Toronto, ON – Lee’s Palace – SOLD OUT
05/16 – Calgary, AB – Dickens
05/17 – Red Deer, AB – Bo’s
05/18 – Edmonton, AB – The Starlite
05/20 – Montreal, QC – Pouzza Fest

The Spark That Moves Track Listing:

01. Gatekeeper
02. Brightest Day
03. We Run Free
04. Space and Time
05. Bed Of Nails
06. Headwound
07. Fear Will Kill Us All
08. Rattlesnake
09. Can’t Sleep
10. Heads Will Roll
11. Winterpeg

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.