“It’s a celebration tonight… of metal” hollers Anthrax frontman Joey Belladona as his bandmates chug out the intro to “N.F.L.” on their new live album, Kings Among Scotland. Recorded on February 15, 2017, at their show at Glasgow Barrowlands, this live package captures the thrash icons at their most glorious.

Now, while this review only covers the audio aspect of the package, which also features the full live show plus the usual backstage shenanigans, interviews and unseen footage, it’s fair to say that Anthrax’s studio producer Jay Ruston has done an incredible job in capturing the audio side of things. As for the set list, well, there is something on Kings Among Scotland for ‘Thrax fans of all generations with a good splash of new tracks like “Blood Eagle Wings” alongside staples of any Anthrax show like “Caught In A Mosh”, “Indians” and “I Am The Law”.

Sounding as fresh now as they did thirty-odd years ago, the energy demonstrated can in no small part be put down to the fact that Anthrax in 2018 have a real fire in their belly. Even when the band dip even further into their back catalogue for the likes of opener “A.I.R” and “Madhouse”, the revitalised sound and energy which the thrash quintet give off is simply exhilarating. Of course, the whole thing is helped by the fact that they’re playing their classic Among The Living in front of a sold-out crowd of Glaswegian Anthrax maniacs and, when Scott Ian addresses the crowd before an arse-ripping rendition of “A Skeleton In The Closet”, you can just picture a few thousand Scottish thrashers losing their minds.

Kings Among Scotland as a standalone live album is a beast of a record with a great set list and a top-notch sound. Package it up with all the other goodies and you’ve got something worth every penny you’ll spend on it.

Kings Among Scotland Track Listing:

01. Intro (Live)
02. A.I.R. (Live)
03. Madhouse (Live)
04. Evil Twin (Live)
05. Medusa (Live)
06. Blood Eagle Wings (Live)
07. Fight ‘Em ‘Til You Can’t (Live)
08. Be All, End All (Live)
09. Breathing Lightning (Live)
10. Among The Living (Live)
11. Caught In A Mosh (Live)
12. One World (Live)
13. I Am The Law (Live)
14. A Skeleton In The Closet (Live)
15. N.F.L. (Live)
16. A.D.I. / Horror Of It All (Live)
17. Indians (Live)
18. Imitation Of Life (Live)
19. Antisocial (Live)

Run Time: 123:13
Release Date: April 27, 2018

Check out Anthrax performing “Caught In A Mosh” from their live DVD.


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.