Kent bruisers Feed The Rhino have been quiet of late but, now, early on in 2018, they’re back with a bang. Having taken a bit of a break to recharge the batteries, the band have thankfully got the fire back in their bellies as they return with their new album The Silence. Starting out life as a raucous metallic hardcore band, The Silence, their fourth album to date, sees the group move further into waters that could be, at times, deemed… mainstream.

Longtime fans of the band needn’t worry though, the guys have lost none of that bite or fury as displayed when the album kicks into life with frontman Lee Tobin screaming “Mirror, mirror, mirror, mirror on my fucking wall” on opener “Timewave Zero”. However, what The Silence does show is that Feed The Rhino in 2018 are an altogether different beast than the one that went “on hiatus” a few years ago. Taking the spine of their last offering the huge The Sorrow And The Sound, Feed The Rhino have come back bigger and groovier than ever.

“Heedless”, “Nerve Of A Sinister Killer”, “Lost In Proximity”, they’re all wrapped round huge swathes of groove with Tobin peppering proceedings with his raw, harsh vocals. This time round though, the cleaner sections, the more mainstream tracks like “Losing Ground” are just a whole lot bigger and more accessible to those who don’t always like to come away from listening to an album feeling like they’ve been run over. Combining the two styles, as Feed The Rhino have done on The Silence and the end result is quite astounding.

Having been away from the scene for quite a while, it doesn’t take a genius to work out that the upcoming live shows are going to be nothing short of fucking bedlam but it’s the areas that the band will be taken with The Silence that will be most interesting to see. Either way, as Tobin screams during “Heedless”, “it’s a case of hold on tight…” because this is going to be one hell of a ride.

The Silence Track Listing:

01. Timewave Zero
02. Heedless
03. Losing Ground
04. 68
05. All Work And No Play Makes Jack A Dull Boy
06. Yellow And Green
07. Nerve Of A Sinister Killer
08. Fences
09. The Silence
10. Lost In Proximity
11. Featherweight

Run Time: 39:59
Release Date: February 16, 2018

Check out the track “Losing Ground” right here.

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.