The name Marco Mendoza might not ring a lot of bells, but I can guarantee that you are familiar with his sound and playing. That’s because Mendoza has been cranking out the low end and holding down the rhythm section for such monster acts as Whitesnake, Thin Lizzy, Ted Nugent, and a heap of other huge acts that reads like a list of who’s who of the Rock/Metal world.

This time out, Mendoza has released his own solo recording with guest appearances from well-known artists including the likes of Glen Hughes, Mike Tramp, and many more. And, let me tell you, if you are a fan of well-produced, ass kicking rock and roll than Viva La Rock is for you. The production is fantastic and the songs are high-energy, old fashioned rock and roll designed for nothing but a good time. I found myself immediately drawn to tunes like opener “Viva La Rock,” and “Sweetest Emotion,” but as I got deeper I found a version of “Chinatown” featuring Mike Tramp and I was blown away; definitely one of my favorite Thin Lizzy songs and this version just totally rips.

Really, at the end of the day, this is a record that is well worth the price of admission and one I feel will have staying power, at least in my player. Viva La Rock is rock and roll the way it was meant to be; Loud, Fun and Uncomplicated!

Viva La Rock Track Listing:

01. Viva La Rock
02. Sue Is On The Run
03. Rocketman
04. Sweetest Emotions
05. Chinatown (Thin Lizzy cover)
06. Burned
07. Love 2 U
08. Leah
09. Hey Baby (Ted Nugent cover)
10. Let It Flow

Run Time: 43:01
Release Date: March 2, 2018

Check out the video for the album’s title track “Viva La Rock”.