It is hard to believe that after 34 years Anthrax, the NYC-based thrash metal pioneers, are still performing and releasing records. It is even harder to believe that they are performing and releasing records on a level equivalent to, if not better than, when they first started.

At the risk of dating myself, I am a true Anthrax fan, having seen them on a regular basis as they cut their teeth in venues in and around NYC such as L’Amour the Rock Capitol of Brooklyn and the old Rio Theatre in Valley Stream, New York.

It was with great pleasure that I was able to take in this sold-out show in Richmond, Virginia as the band proved yet again they are worthy and deserving of being included among the “Big Four.” The moment the band took the stage the energy in the room was palpable and, as they ripped into “Among The Living”, they set the tone for the rest of the evening. Even if you were not a fan when you arrived, perhaps you had been dragged unwillingly by a friend or loved one, you undoubtedly left as one. Their brand of thrash metal is fun and it is hard not to get caught up in the enjoyment these guys are having onstage.

Bassist Frankie Bello had a smile plastered on his face from ear to ear as he prowled the stage pounding out the low end. Singer Joey Belladonna has a certain way of interacting with the crowd that made the 1,350 people in attendance feel as if they were all part of the show. Of course, the most recognizable member of the band, guitarist, Scott Ian cranked out the riffs while scissor kicking his way around the stage much to the delight of the crowd.

As far as the set list is concerned, I don’t think it could have been any better, touching on a good majority of their records and including most of their massive hits like “Caught In A Mosh,” “Medusa,” and “Indians,” this was truly a night to remember!

Anthrax’s Set List:

01. Among the Living
02. Caught in a Mosh
03. Got the Time-(Joe Jackson cover)
04. Madhouse
05. Fight ‘Em ‘Til You Can’t
06. Breathing Lightning
07. Medusa
08. Belly of the Beast
09. Blood Eagle Wings
10. Be All, End All
11. Antisocial-(Trust cover)
12. Indians

Check out the 1987 classic “Caught In A Mosh” off the band’s new live DVD Kings Among Scotland.