Connect with us

Album Review

A Light Within – “Epilogue” [EP] [Album Review]

Post-metal visionaries A Light Within are signalling the conclusion of their three-part conceptual body of work with the release of Epilogue.



Post-metal visionaries A Light Within signal the conclusion of their three-part conceptual body of work (following on from 2013’s Preface and 2015’s Body Matter) with the release of Epilogue. Vocalist Kyle Brandt, commenting on the lyrics, described them as “transcribed diary entries written from the perspective of a reflective mind“, Epilogue looks set to close this chapter with precision and aplomb.

From the opening track “Page #9 (Shells)”, A Light Within draw on a masterful combination of epic atmosphere and vocalist’s Kyle Brandt’s gloomy vocals which work brilliantly. Slow, lumbering guitar riffs encompass the whole song and it really feels as though the band are taking the listener on a journey. The tapestry of the band’s sound is complex bringing in various layers of instrumentalism mashed together with predominantly clean vocals to provide a thoroughly chilled undertone during the course of this release.

There’s not a huge amount of diversity on this EP and if post-metal isn’t your sub-genre of choice then this might not do anything to turn those opinions around. However, there are some interesting elements brought to the fore throughout. Vocal chanting is present on “Page #54 (Chemical Drive)” stating “we are the silent/defiant” in a repetitive yet no less enchanting manner, while the energy levels are heightened through “Page #27 (Surrounded by Astronauts)” with a slight increase in tempo that gives the listener something to nod their head to.

Unfortunately, the EP concludes with a pedestrian effort. In amongst trying to sound like a mixture of latter day Katatonia, Junius and Alcest and with Brandt’s performance akin to Chino Moreno (Deftones) and David Bowie, “Page #35 (An Educated Gentleman)” leaves the listener feeling a bit empty due to its lack of bite. Although given that the concept of each of the three parts revolves around love, compassion and loss, then this emotively bleak outlook may well be the point of this finale.

Calling this “metal” may be a bit of a woolly classification but fans of emotive, melodic and progressive music in the vein of Deftones, Isis and Katatonia will definitely find something to like here.

Epilogue Track Listing:

01. Page #9 (Shells) 04:28
02. Page #54 (Chemical Drive)
03. Page #27 (Surrounded by Astronauts)
04. Page #35 (An Educated Gentleman)

Run Time: ??:??
Release Date: February 2, 2018

Check out a debut of the full album stream here! Let us know your thoughts below.