“You don’t leave much to the imagination.
Now that you’re back in circulation.”

“Hard To Look Away”

In 2013, a criminally overlooked debut album by Walking Papers saw its release. Twice. Once as an independent effort, and then a wider re-release, distributed through Sony Music. Walking Papers was indeed one of the best rock albums of that year. It felt like four multi-talented musicians coming together to craft some beautiful music, and the world was a better place because of that albums’ existence.

So, listen up good people, because lightning has indeed struck twice.

Jefferson Angell (vocals, guitar) Barrett Martin (drums, vibes, percussion, backing vocals); Duff McKagan (bass) and Benjamin Anderson (keyboards, backing vocals) have enmassed another hour of original material, spread out over 13 incredible new songs. They have once again utilized the production handiwork of Jack Endino (Soundgarden, Nirvana, Mudhoney) and Martin Feveyear (Mark Lanegan, Kings of Leon, Queens of the Stone Age). And they have once again delivered a rock-and-roll opus one would expect from musicians and mixers who have stood amongst the likes of Post Stardom Depression, Skin Yard, The Missionary Position, Screaming Trees, Mad Season, Tuatara, Guns n’ Roses and Velvet Revolver. Oh yes, Mike McCready (Pearl Jam) likes to jam with these fellas from time to time too. So, there is that.

All ego-stroking and laurel-resting aside, Walking Papers is a collective of veteran musicians looking to challenge each other musically and professionally. Their debut album was filled with wonderful examples of musicality – and this follow-up doubles down on that in every way. Walking Papers’ often unlikely explorations into music bear some of the sweetest fruit this side of your stereo speakers. WP2 tracks like “Death On The Lips,” “Hard To Look Away,” “This Is How It Ends,” “King Hooker,” and “Right In Front Of Me” will put a big fat rock and roll smile all over your face.

Don’t think of Walking Papers as a side project. Don’t think of Walking Papers as that band that Duff McKagan hangs out in (he hates that, I’m sure). Think of Walking Papers as a collaborative meeting of musicians with very diverse histories in their respective bands coming together to make something truly meaningful together. Think of Walking Papers as a gift, and this excellent follow up album WP2 makes Walking Papers a gift that keeps on giving.

WP2 Track Listing:

01. My Luck Pushed Back 3:54
02. Death On The Lips 4:28
03. Red & White 5:46
04. Somebody Else 3:42
05. Yours Completely 4:09
06. Hard To Look Away 3:20
07. Before You Arrived 4:19
08. Don’t Owe Me Nothin’ 4:44
09. This Is How It Ends 6:29
10. I Know You’re Lying 3:59
11. Into The Truth 4:34
12. King Hooker 4:25
13. Right In Front Of Me 7:36

Run Time: 1:01:25
Release Date: January 19, 2018

Check out the Walking Papers WP2 video trailer.

I like mojitos, loud music, and David Lynch.