Connect with us

Album Review

Asking Alexandria – “Asking Alexandria” [Album Review]

Asking Alexandria’s new self-titled album is the culmination of a decade’s worth of musical development, and it’s soooo legit.



Say what you will about what you THINK you know about Asking Alexandria, but it’s undeniable that the current rock/metal scene wouldn’t be what it is today were it not for “Stand Up And Scream.” I’ve heard and read criticism of AA being a niche band, pigeon holed by jokes about 0-0-0-0-0 and crabcore. Here’s the thing – that was like 10 years ago. AA’s new self-titled album is the culmination of a decade’s worth of musical development, and it’s soooo legit.

Everything about this album screams legendary. Danny’s vocal performance knocks it out of the park. He’s become such a beast that I would imagine it’s intimidating to other singers. Jamz like “Into The Fire” are arena-worthy, having an incredibly catchy hook with a bloodcurdling scream during the bridge. The heavier tracks have a monumental, sonic nature to them, a constant pushing vibe, almost like a machine careening through a jungle (ex: “Rise Up), while tracks like “When The Lights Come On” almost feel like a collaboration with Fall Out Boy. Like… I know that almost doesn’t make sense, but FOB has that stupid catchy, quick vocal rhythm vibe, with acoustic guitars and “ohhhs” with some momentary falsetto thrown into the mix that then goes into straight up, anthem rock chorus that rivals … idk … Disturbed? Slipknot? Even if you don’t listen to or like Disturbed, they are undeniable ear candy.

What makes this album just that much better are all of the detailed production effects. Whether it’s the synth textures, effected room sounds, weird filters or sampled vocals, these songs are so well polished. It feels like no expense was spared in perfected each of these tracks. I’ve changed my mind… This might be my fav. album of 2017.

Asking Alexandria Track Listing:

01. Alone in a Room
02. Into The Fire
03. Hopelessly Hopeful
04. Where Did It Go?
05. Rise Up
06. When The Lights Come On
07. Under Denver
08. Vultures
09. Eve
10. I Am One
11. Empire
12. Room 138

Run Time: 50:37
Release Date: December 15, 2017

Check out the video for “Into The Fire”