Thy Art Is Murder is a pretty sick name. I’m not sure who “Thy” necessarily is, but this person sounds like trouble, which in metal music means you’re in for some fun and intense ear candy. As is to be expected from any TAIM release, Dear Desolation is totz McBr00tz.

Right off the bat, there’s a riff that quickly gets paired with a blast beat. “Slaves Beyond Death,” (prepare yourself for a pun) sets the tone for the record, which happens to be much more DEATH metal, in a traditional sense. There are a few bouncy moments, but for the most part, it’s not long before the song is floored, and you’re pounded into the ground, sonically… and emotionally… and metaphysically, and then the next thing you know, you’re under a pavement roller.

Lyrically, as well as musically, the Dear Desolation is totz McBr00tz. is pretty dark in terms of the emotions that emanate through whatever speakers you’re using – I mean it’s death metal, so duh. The fast tempos add a mood of anxiety, and whenever the half-time breakdowns kick in, the depression really sinks in. With titles like, “Dear Desolation,” “Death Dealer,” and “Into Chaos We Climb,” you could imagine that the sentiment is pretty grim with no rainbows, no Fruit Loops, and definitely nothing baby blue, unless of course it’s an angry Smurf, or something. Idk.

The shredding is sick, lots of quick picking and dope solos, and the drumming is monumental, but I would have preferred a little bit more development throughout the songs. A culmination of some sort that opens up some options for some colorful melodic development would have been nice, even if that color was just a different shade of black or piercing a red. But, that’s just me getting nitty gritty. The trem. picking in “Man Is The Enemy” led me to at least bring up some negativity. Grrrrrr I’m mad too, not really. That joke probably didn’t land.

Dear Desolation Track Listing:

01. Slaves Beyond Death
02. The Son Of Misery
03. Puppet Master
04. Dear Desolation
05. Death Dealer
06. Man Is The Enemy
07. The Skin Of The Serpent
08. Fire In The Sky
09. Into Chaos We Climb
10. The Final Curtain

Run Time: 38:21
Release Date: August 18, 2017

Check out the video for the single “The Son of Misery”