The sheer talent on display signifies angular insanity, riffage galore and bizarre themes. Any progressive death metal ensemble is going to have to hold themselves to a certain standard to even be looked at by the genre’s audience. Fortunately, John Frum should more than satisfy and endear themselves to those serious about their prog scene and those revered within it. Relapse is doing a thumbs up job of trying to get quality heavy projects out to the ears they deserve.

The different takes and twists on multi-layered vocals are interesting, courtesy of Derek Rydquist (formerly of The Faceless); a lot more variety in his voice than most of your typical death metal barkers. As for the music, Liam Wilson (Dillinger Escape Plan) sees himself playing high-speed counterpoint on bass, between guitarist Matt Hollenberg (of Cleric) and Eli Litwin’s masterful drumming. No lie, Eli’s octopus-on-crack proficiency is near untouchable! Just check out “He Come” and definitely “Assumption of Form” if you need any further convincing; he’s a stupendous joy to behold.

Musical insanity aside, this will have a home with many who worship at the altar of ‘post-Human’ Death, Ulcerate, Artificial Brain, Immolation and others of supreme extreme excellence. For those who totally digest music of this genre or it’s neighbours, this is worthy of coming back to time and again to attempt to decipher the time changes for “Presage of Emptiness”. A Stirring in the Noos is one big sweeping “How are ya?” for extreme prog heads; I can’t wait to hear (and also it makes me excited for) what their next step up will be.

A Stirring in the Noos Track Listing:

01. Presage of Emptiness
02. Pining Light
03. Memory Palace
04. Through Sand and Spirit
05. Lacustrine Divination
06. He Come
07. Assumption of Form
08. Wasting Subtle Body

Run Time: 43:20
Release Date: May 12, 2017

Check out the band’s video for the track “Wasting Subtle Body”