The classy quintet from Sweden has truly gifted us with an album that we thought they could, and it’s just their second after all! Like a magical marriage of Deep Purple and Rainbow playing doom in the modern day Avatarium are, which is a wonderful thing really. Also with this album Leif (Edling, founder and bassist) has officially backed away from touring duties only and Mats Rydström dutifully takes over the road reigns. That said, the band is truly a classic metal and rock tour-de-force here and you should literally pounce at the chance to see them promoting this particular album live. One listen of “The Sky At The Bottom Of The Sea” will convince you; if not, you should move along.

There’s a certain caliber of soul attached to Jennie-Ann Smith when she sings; almost operatic, applying live theater flourishes for even delicate parts, giving them power. “The Starless Sleep” and the almost tearful “When Breath Turns To Air” are captivating as she effortlessly masters the instrument that is her voice. To behold interplay between Marcus Jidell’s crafted riffing, and new organ maestro Rickard Nilsson is awesome; sort of like Deep Purple’s Blackmore and Lord (as in the exquisite “Medusa Child” or the blazing opener “Into The Fire – Into The Storm”). The songs contain a real lasting feel that makes you want to revisit them over and over; with so much bombarding music audiences now, this is a recording that helps you to breathe while listening!

It would be too easy to pull the Candlemass and The Doomsday Machine card (again) to remind people of the pedigree at work here. Instead, relish in the fact that this act is now getting it’s footing proper, to hopefully be able to deliver heavenly delights for years or decades to come. Personally, I’m so down for that.

Hurricanes and Halos Track Listing:

01. Into The Fire – Into The Storm
02. The Starless Sleep
03. Road To Jerusalem
04. Medusa Child
05. The Sky At The Bottom Of The Sea
06. When Breath Turns To Air
07. A Kiss (From The End Of The World)
08. Hurricanes And Halos

Run Time: 44:41
Release Date: May 26, 2017

Check out the track “The Starless Sleep”