This is the album that Voivod started to be referred to as a “progressive avant-garde metal quartet” proper, and less just as the “speed or thrash band from Quebec”. The underlying intelligence and crafting behind this album took everyone by surprise; a tale that engrossed not just lyrically (to Snake’s credit), but musically. So much more to this point, some bands started to take influence(s) from them, knowing how different and fringe their style was, even for the metal emerging at the time. A progressive sci-fi thrash concept album? One of the very best firsts by far.

The tasteful drops throughout of sound effects, coupled with production that finally brought the clarity of their changes, without sacrificing their energy and intensity. If nothing else, Piggy’s diminished and minor chord mastery on guitar was intensified; as was also the case with Blacky’s tight accompaniments on bass. The band now wielded complexity with the force of a blast beat (which drummer Away also gleefully provided in spurts), which basically told critics who ran their mouth previously, to “Deal with this” and shut it.

Again, this album is really vital (meaning a must have) if you’re a fan. Their live set at the Spectrum in Montreal from 1988 showcases heavy on Dimension… in their set (sans ‘Cosmic Drama’), peppered with selected tracks from their first few albums and a couple of covers to close. This show, or tour in general, would have been awesome to behold as again, this is one of my favorite Voivod albums ever, next to the perfect follow-up of Nothingface on MCA’s ill-fated Mechanix subsidiary label. The DVD extras from the CD set of live gigs in the US and the ’87 demo of the album are lovely added touches for the fanboy and fangirl. BMG has done a great service indeed to reissue this, so get it now and thank them, and the band, that way.

Dimension Hatross Track Listing:


01. Experiment
02. Tribal Convictions
03. Chaosmongers
04. Technocratic Manipulators
05. Macrosolutions To Megaproblems
06. Brain Scan
07. Psychic Vacuum
08. Cosmic Drama
09. Batman


01. Overreaction
02. Experiment
03. Tribal Convictions
04. Chaosmongers
05. Ravenous Medicine
06. Korgull The Exterminator
07. Technocratic Manipulators
08. Macrosolutions To Megaproblems
09. War And Pain Medley
10. Brain Scan
11. Psychic Vacuum
12. Order to The Black Guards
13. Holiday In Cambodia
14. Batman

Run Time: CD1 – 41:46; CD2 – 69:39
Release Date: April 28, 2017

Check out the track “Tribal Convictions”