Download Now

Montréal, Canada’s instrumental progressive metal quintet, Cydemind, are set to issue their new six-track album, Erosion, on May 26th. (Pre-order your very own copy via Bandcamp.) With a unique musical mixture consisting of progressive metal and rock, jazz, and classical, the group are pleased to tease their new tunes with a free download of the single “Tree of Tales”.

Violinist Olivier Allard says his band’s sound is “violin meets instrumental prog metal” and with influences like Dream Theater, Symphony X, Haken, and the Neal Morse Band, plus jazz artists such as Avishai Cohen and Tigran Hamasyan, he’s definitely not far off.

Allard also commented on Erosion itself, saying: “It’s a pretty unique kind of progressive metal, but it’s rather easy to get hooked to it! Because our music is full of different soundscapes and ambiances, and because every instrument is interesting! We have a classically trained violin, that’s pretty unique to our band. We hope every fan actually has a different listening experience depending on how and what they’re listening.”

Erosion Track Listing:

01. What Remains
02. Tree of Tales
03. Derecho
04. Red Tides
05. Stream Capture
06. Erosion

Publisher, CEO, and Co-Founder - Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.