Bittersweet and stirring, “18 Weeks” is the latest track to be released from Abrams and their sophomore record Morning. The song drives forward with rocking drums, howling guitars and heart-on-sleeve vocals. As Abrams’ Taylor Iversen explains, it is a step forward towards new ground for the band, “We’ve always wanted to write songs with good catchy riffs and strong vocal hooks to boot. I’ve always wanted to be a singer but I’ve only ever been a shouter. This track represents, for us, success on these fronts.”

The ten track album summons a soulful version of heavy metal that’s akin to bands and artists such as Mastodon, Baroness, and Mark Lanegan. Morning was recorded by Andy Patterson (SubRosa, Cult Leader) and Dave Otero (Cobalt, Cattle Decapitation), and was mixed and mastered by Otero.