Produced by Justin Hill (formerly of tech-metal nutjobs Sikth), Veil is the new EP from Nottingham-based sluggers The Five Hundred who, while their material might have had the magic tech-metal touch from Mr.Hill, are still primarily the kind of band whose core output is one that leaves you with one stonking headache!

After lulling you into a sense of comfort with the gentle intro, all hell breaks loose as “Ghost In The Flames” kicks things off good and proper. Part Chimaira, part Fear Factory, 110% mosh, The Five Hundred at their heaviest, have that crunch and groove reminiscent of UK bruisers Malefice. The double-part title track takes the EP down a more experimental, atmospheric route and shows another dimension to a band who’ve clearly got plenty of ideas in the tank to create something quite special progressing forward beyond the four tracks that make up Veil.

Veil EP Track Listing:

01. Aftermath
02. Ghost In The Flames
03. The Rush
04. The Veil
05. The Veil Pt II

Run Time: 15:20
Release Date: April 21, 2017

Check out the track “The Rush”


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.