In celebration of their 25-year anniversary, The Cranberries are back with a brand new album… well, a somewhat new album. Something Else features acoustic and orchestral re-recordings of ten of the band’s biggest hits – including “Linger”, “Zombie”, and “Ode to My Family”—as well as three new tracks—”The Glory”, “Rupture”, and “Why?”.

The album title Something Else is a deliberate nod to the hit ’90s group’s debut record Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We?. The album artwork was even created by Andy Earl, the same photographer who shot the cover for the Irish band’s first album back in 1993. Side by side, the album covers reveal the evolution of the band—from dark and broody teens to grown adults, celebrated musicians.

Musically, the difference between the original recordings and their re-releases is instantly clear. Yes, the tracks on Something Else are orchestral renditions of the originals, but that’s not even the most significant change. What is most noticeable is the maturity and life experience that the band is now able to put behind these powerful songs, specifically when it comes to singer Dolores O’Riordan’s chilling vocals. There is a new strength in them that comes from a different place, one that the vocalist wasn’t able to access when she first joined the band at the age of 18.

Cranberries fans can rest easy knowing that Something Else is more than just a cash-grab cut and paste release of old favourites—it’s a clear benchmark of the progression and growth of the band. Fans will also be pleased with the three new track additions featured on the album, as they’re true to the spirit of The Cranberries beloved style, while still offering something unique.

“The Glory”, which O’Riordan explains she wrote in The Irish Chamber Orchestra’s rehearsal rooms in her hometown of Limerick, is a lulling and symphonic piece that follows up well behind the album’s opening track “Linger”.

“Rupture” and “Why?” come from O’Riordan’s personal collection, and reveal a very intimate and painful side of the singer’s life. “Rupture” is a vulnerable, melancholy piece that illustrates the struggle of living with depression and attempting to escape “that black hole.” “Why?” is another deeply personal and evocative song, penned after O’Riordan’s father passed away. Anyone who has experienced the grief that comes with the loss of a loved one will connect immediately with the frustration and profound sadness the song conveys so well.

Whether you’re a devoted Cranberries fan or someone who’s only recently discovered them thanks to that 2015 stint on The Bachelorette (*minor eye roll*) you’ll definitely want to add Something Else to your collection.

Something Else Track Listing:

01. Linger
02. The Glory
03. Dreams
04. When You’re Gone
05. Zombie
06. Ridiculous Thoughts
07. Rupture
08. Ode To My Family
09. Free To Decide
10. Just My Imagination
11. Animal Instinct
12. You & Me
13. Why?

Run Time: 54:30
Release Date: April 28, 2017

Check out a reworked version of “Linger”