Download Now

The Black Light is an English progressive rock duo consisting of members Martin Bassett (guitars, bass, keys, lead vocals) and Andrew Watt (drums, keys, vocals). The guys create rock in the vein of Radiohead, Mew, and Oceansize, and released their new, All Forgotten Dreams full-length on January 1, 2017. The album follows 2011’s Lost In The Middle EP and sees the Swindon/Southampton-based musicians pushing to move from part-time hobbyists to a full-time group. We’re now also offering a free download of the song “Lone Wolf”.

The band commented on the song: “‘Lone Wolf’ is one of our favourite tracks on the album and it is a good representative of the album’s sound, which pulls together ambient synths, layered vocals, heavy guitar riffs, and irregular time signatures. It originated as a tribal beat tapped out on a desk, but quickly developed into something unusual, yet addictive. We ended up inadvertently drawing upon influences such as Bjork for the opening section, before deciding it should segue into something much heavier. The lyrics were largely written in a stream-of-consciousness style, but it also subtly refers to someone formerly known by Martin who has had issues with depression. We believe the song and the album as a whole will appeal to fans of bands such as Radiohead, Mew, Oceansize and the Smashing Pumpkins, all of whom have been big influences.”


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.