You might be listening to another band right now, but I highly suggest that you stop, and read what I’m about to write because I’m arrogant and put heavy emphasis on my opinion while undermining those of others because it’s 2017, and that’s how we do. Seventh Seal is a band with which you should familiarize yourself, if your interest is piqued by big guitars, manly, emotional vocals and metaphors.

The Crown is a hard rock meets modern modern metal EP that takes the listener on a surprisingly wholesome, full circle journey in only 6 tracks. I say surprisingly because my brain didn’t initially register that The Crown is an EP, and when I completed my first cover-to-cover listen, I had the satiation of a 6 course, while only packing on the weight of a pre-workout. You might be surprised to hear this, but this is actually the review of a new diet regime. If you believe me, you’re special.

Stylistically, the songwriting/riffaging can be compared to the gallops of heavy metal, reminiscent maybe of Bullet for My Valentine, with big, open choruses of Killswitch; however, mid-way through the EP, you’ll find “Winter,” a 5-minute long ballad that begins with the ambience of a late-night rendezvous with Breaking Benjamin that transitions into a little more… not necessarily progressive, but def. thought-provoking passage as the chords detail a sonic scene of something uncertain, and for me, almost sinister, but that’s probably on account of the brief screams that transition into the guitar solo just before the last chorus, screams which are seemingly sparse and meticulously written on this EP.

The title track, “The Crown,” might have the most interesting writing on account of the rhythm, syncopation and choice of layers, textures. The transition to the overdriven guitars is a dizzying drum fill, so hold on to your butts.

The Crown was produced at Studio E in Westminster, MD (, mixed by Drew Mazurek, and mastered by Jack Braglia (

The Crown [EP] Track Listing:

01. Candle
02. Samsara
03. Half Life
04. Winter
05. Crown
06. Outro

Run Time: 25:45
Release Date: February 17, 2017

Check out the song “Half-Life”