I really like when people step out of their comfort zones and do something different – and that is what legendary vocalist John Garcia seems to have captured on his latest release, The Coyote Who Spoke in Tongues.

Known for his many heavy-hitting projects like Kyuss and Vista Chino, with this offering John has taken a step in a majorly different direction while still maintaining both a heaviness and desert vibe. A primarily acoustic release, the album features songs from his many bands, and solo career, but done in a way you’ve never before heard them.

The California desert has produced a lot of really heavy music, and listening to some of those songs done in a “native campfire vibe” is a really cool addition to John’s catalogue of music. It shows his diversity as a singer, and re-imagines classic songs in a new and interesting way.

I am a fan of John’s and, as a fan, I am really happy with this record – it may be different, but these days different is good. Purists may disagree, but I think a guy like John Garcia can pretty much do whatever he wants at this point. It also may introduce him and his music to a new group of listeners. Change is good, especially when said change is done well.

The Coyote Who Spoke in Tongues Track Listing:

01. Kylie
02. Green Machine
03. Give Me 250 ML
04. The Hollingsworth Session
05. Space Cadet
06. Gardenia
07. El Rodeo
08. Argleben II
09. Court Order
10. The BLVD (Live)
11. Give Me 250 ML (Live)

Run Time: 45:46
Release Date: January 27, 2017

Check out the video for the song “Kylie”