D.C.’s metalcore pioneers, Darkest Hour recently announced their new album, Godless Prophets & The Migrant Flora, and now are streaming the song “Knife In The Safe Room”. The new album is due via Southern Lord Recordings on March 10th, 2017.

“This song sets the tone for the album both lyrically and sonically,” explains guitarist Mike Schleibaum. “While this may be the most fierce album we have ever released, its depth and sonic richness are sure to be discovered as the listener dives in. Thematically this song has a dual purpose. On the surface it is a classic Darkest Hour song, ripe with the reflection of today’s bleak modern age but as you peel back the lyrics and ideas contained within the album story unfolds, one that is all too common in human history. This is the beginning, it is part bitter reflection of the way things are and part anthem for those who struggle to survive as the world encircles them. To quote Nina Simone: “An artists duty is to reflect the times”, with that we hold a mirror to the face of all things truly horrific and give you, ‘The Knife in the Safe Room.'”

The 12-song release will be the band’s ninth full-length and was of a successful crowd funding campaign which netted the band well over 100% of the initial goal. Darkest Hour opted to produce with Kurt Ballou (High on Fire, Nails, Converge) for “his obvious genius” (according to guitarist Mike Schleibaum) and recorded at Ballou’s Godcity Studio. Artist Shaun Beaudry was responsible for the album’s cover artwork.

Godless Prophets & The Migrant Flora Track Listing:

01. Knife in the Safe Room
02. This is the Truth
03. Timeless Numbers
04. None of This is the Truth
05. The Flesh & The Flowers of Death
06. Those Who Survived
07. Another Headless Ruler of the Used
08. Widowed
09. Enter Oblivion
10. The Last of the Monuments
11. In the Name of Us All
12. Beneath It Sleeps

Tour Dates:

02/17 – Washington, D.C. – Black Cat
02/18 – Pittsburgh, PA – Diesel
02/19 – Cleveland, OH – Agora Theater
02/21 – New York, NY – Saint Vitus
02/23 – Chicago, IL – Reggie’s
02/24 – Milwaukee, WI – The Metal Grill
02/26 – Kansas City, MO – The Riot Room
02/28 – Denver, CO – Marquis Theater
03/05 – Portland, OR – Analog Cafe
03/06 – Seattle, WA – Studio Seven
03/08 – San Francisco, CA – DNA Lounge
03/11 – San Diego, CA – Brick By Brick
03/12 – Phoenix, AZ – Club Red
03/13 – Tucson, AZ – Club XS
03/14 – Albuquerque, NM – The Compound 2
03/15 – Lubbock, TX – Backstage
03/16 – Austin, TX – Grizzly Hall
03/17 – Houston, TX – White Oak
03/19 – Dallas, TX – Gas Monkey Bar & Grill
03/21 – Cincinnati, OH – Northside Yacht Club

Publisher, CEO, and Co-Founder - Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.