Keep an eye (ear?) out for British pop punk group As The Sun Sleeps, because they’re dropping a brand new EP this January. These five new tracks deliver all the fun and good vibes that you’d expect of genre notables like Broadside. Key tracks include “Beering,” which features surging guitars and a catchy chorus, and “Florida,” which showcases Tom Shrimpton’s exemplary drumming.

That being said, the EP is far from perfect. Joe Beck’s voice never comes through strongly enough to lead the songs, and it feels a bit lost behind the powerful guitars. Radio-friendly tracks like “What Matters Most” aren’t exactly bad, but they’re also not captivating enough to truly grip the listener. Overall, the songs lack obvious flaws, but they don’t offer enough to keep me coming back for more.

Not quite “as good as gold,” but it’s still musical comfort food for big fans of pop punk.

As Good As Gold Track Listing:

01. Beering
02. Florida
03. Forever Sick
04. What Matters Most
05. Nothing But Net

Run Time: 16:59
Release Date: January 20, 2017

Check out the song “Beering”