Prog metal, math metal, a headache… However you want to describe Animals As Leaders, you should always be on the ready to include the word “genius” somewhere within your description. Personally, I describe them as “not of this world” and “gifted”. Flattering descriptions aside, Animals As Leaders are releasing their fourth album, The Madness of Many, to the delight of those whom, for fun on a Friday night, love figuring out the band’s time signatures and note structures.

So, looking at the track list I can’t help but scratch my head wondering if maybe I should brush up on my scientific nomenclature before listening to another 100 notes in 30 seconds or less? The titles are just as complex as their music, but the song title, “Backpfeifengesicht” (German compound word for a “face that should be slapped”), takes the cake. Bravo!!!

Tosin Abasi stated that, “This album feels like total synergy between the three of us.” After several listens, I wholeheartedly agree. This album is very fluid, from track to track, and is a very intricate, yet a beautiful piece of musical art. There is not a Cafo on The Madness of Many, but it’s still a great album top to bottom.

Animals As Leaders are going on a five-week tour in support of their new release, including dates in both the U.S. and Canada, starting November 10th (today). I was fortunate enough to catch them at Brutal Assault in the Czech Republic this past summer and if you’ve never seen them before, well, they add even more notes in those guitar runs and more dazzling fills on the drums than are on the recorded versions. Don’t miss them!

The Madness of Many Track Listing:

01. Arithmophobia
02. Ectogenesis
03. Cognitive Contortions
04. Inner Assassins
05. Private Visions of the World
06. Backpfeifengesicht
07. Transcentience
08. The Glass Bridge
09. The Brain Dance
10. Apeirophobia

Run Time: 52:56
Release Date: November 11, 2016

Check out the song “Arithmophobia”