Connect with us

Album Review

Sum 41 – “13 Voices” [Album Review]

Given the troubled times Sum 41 have been through in the past few years, it’s no surprise that 13 Voices is a dark, heart-wrenching listen at times. Read our review here…



We all saw the heartbreaking photos of Sum 41 frontman Deryck Whibley posted when the singer was going through some pretty life-changing health issues. Well, thankfully, Whibley is on the mend and back with his bandmates and a new album, 13 Voices. Unsurprisingly, 13 Voices sees the usually rogueish metal-loving punk band, exploring a grittier side as, amongst other topics, Whibley reflects on his life-threatening experiences of the last few years.

Singing straight from his heart, Sum 41’s likeable frontman pulls no punches on tracks like the emotional “Breaking The Chain”. At times it’s a tough listen as you know that every word pouring out of Whibley’s mouth has been a moment the man has lived through but, it leaves you in no doubt that you’re listening to a painfully honest record. Among the emotion and grittiness, there are plenty of moments where the Sum 41 of old rear their collective heads. “Goddamned, I’m Dead Again” sees them mixing up their love of old school metal with fast-paced punk while “There Will Be Blood” has the kind of massive sound that Green Day have been known to dabble in now and again.

“War” sees Whibley and his bandmates put in an emotional, powerful performance on one of the album highlights while they sign off by wringing the last drop of emotion out of the recording with a huge, dramatic finale in the form of “Twisted By Design”.

Given what the band have been through in the last few years, it comes as no surprise that 13 Voices is a heart-wrenching, dark album which may not sit comfortably with fans of the bands mainstream moments but it is ten tracks that make you glad they survived the drama of the last few years.

13 Voices Track Listing:

01. A Murder of Crows
02. Goddamn I’m Dead Again
03. Fake My Own Death
04. Breaking The Chain
05. There Will Be Blood
06. 13 Voices
07. War
08. God Save Us All (Death to POP)
09. The Fall And The Rise
10. Twisted By Design

Run Time: 37:44
Release Date: October 07, 2016

Check out the track “God Save Us (Death To Pop)”

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.