Connect with us

Album Review

Nuclear Holocaust – “Overkill Commando” [Album Review]

It may only be 30 minutes long but even our battle-hardened metal commando found the relentless onslaught from Nuclear Holocaust a bit of an overkill. Read the review here…



This little slab of easy listening music made its way to my inbox I was a bit intrigued. I have heard a lot about these guys and the cover art was enough to make me want to give it a whirl. So, I brewed up a pot of coffee one morning and sat down to give it a listen. Good thing I had put my coffee down because, had I not, the first few notes would have blown it out of my hands and I might have suffered 3rd degree burns to go along with my impending hearing loss.

This thrashy, grindcore album grabs you right by the throat pummelling you into submission with its barrage of distorted fast-paced riffage and insanely fast drumming. Let me tell you, this is a crazy-heavy record and, to be honest, I think it is a bit too extreme for my liking. 20 songs rip by in less than 30 minutes and by the end of it all I felt as though I had spent 12 rounds in a boxing ring.

Don’t get me wrong, I can appreciate the musicianship that went into these songs because, no doubt, it takes a certain amount of talent to be able to play well at that neck-breaking speed. The downside for me is it is too raw, too extreme and too under-produced for me to give it another listen and, to my untrained ear, there is not much distinction from track to track. Bottom line, I think fans of super extreme metal are going to dig this but for me it is just too much.

Overkill Commando Track Listing:

01. Abominations Of Annihilation
02. Overkill Commando
03. Epicentre Of Terror
04. Cryptic Stench Of Radioactive Foetuses
05. Power-Hungry Paranoia
06. Religious Mutation
07. Deathbringer Of Death
08. Toxic Whore
09. Mashed With A Club
10. Only Cockroaches Will Survive
11. Vomiting Blood
12. Queen Of Sodomy
13. Pulverised
14. Nuclear Waste Repository
15. Frostbitten By The Radioactive Full moon
16. Disciples Of The Flesh
17. We Are The Bat People
18. Gore Cult
19. God Is Undead
20. Atomic Suicide

Run Time: 27:24
Release Date: November 4, 2016

Check out the track “Abominations Of Annihilation”