This album unequivocally captures that Norwegian Black Metal sound from the genre’s inception. Arctic Thunder sounds like it was recorded in a bedroom but, fuck it… it enhances the authenticity and spirit of True Norwegian Black Metal!

I have to admit, I haven’t listened to the last few Darkthrone albums, but this release grabbed me from the first d-beat and after a couple of spins, I fell in love with it. I don’t know how to describe it, but there’s this early Celtic Frost essence to the whole album. It doesn’t sound like Celtic Frost, but with catchy riffs, simple drum beats and the rawness of the vocals, that’s what comes to mind when I try to describe it. There’s also a quirkiness to it, but again, it’s not a bad thing, it’s just different in a refreshing way. You’re just to have to check it out for yourself to understand what I mean by this.

I think us as connoisseurs of heavier music become numb and disinterested at times when bands try to out “technical” each other. Fenriz and Nocturno Culto have created a well-rounded, stripped-down Black Metal album just in time for the long and cold winter months ahead….

Heavy Haiku Review:

It’s raw and it’s cold…
Darkthrone return to the roots.
Old school Black Metal!

Arctic Thunder Track Listing:

01. Tundra Leech
02. Burial Bliss
03. Boreal Fiends
04. Inbred Vermin
05. Arctic Thunder
06. Throw Me through the Marshes
07. Deep Lake Trespass
08. The Wyoming Distance

Run Time: 39:23
Release Date: October 14, 2016

Check out the song “Tundra Leech”