As they prepare for the release of their new 7-song magnum opus – Light Falls, due out August 16th from Thrill Jockey – the incredibly prolific Wrekmeister Harmonies have premiered the album’s first single. Listen to “Some Were Saved Some Drowned” here.

Light Falls is the group’s fifth release and follows 2015’s critically-acclaimed Night Of Your Ascension LP (Thrill Jockey) which featured no less than 30 musicians in the musical collective. On Light Falls, Wrekmeister Harmonies’ visionary JR Robinson felt it was time to seek out new creative strategies, focusing his energies on a smaller collective; this new album features Wrekmeister Harmonies’ core members JR Robinson (vocals, guitar) and Esther Shaw (keyboards, piano, violin, vocals) joined by by Godspeed You! Black Emperor musicians Thierry Amar on bass and contrabass; Sophie Trudeau on piano, violin and vocals; and Timothy Herzog on drums. Chicago musicians Ryley Walker and Cooper Crain (Cave, Bitchin Bajas) make guest appearances on the album as well. The resulting output with the new lineup continues to transcend classification and expand their sonic palette on what is Wrekmeister Harmonies’ most focused, compelling and powerful release to date.

Light Falls Track Listing:

01. Light Falls I – The Mantra
02. Light Falls II – The Light Burns Us All
03. Light Falls III – Light Sick
04. The Gathering
05. Where Have You Been My Lovely Son?
06. Some Were Saved Some Drowned
07. My Lovely Son Reprise

Tour Dates:

11/01 – Toronto, ON – The Garrison
11/02 – Chicago, IL – Township
11/04 – New York, NY – Trans-Pecos
11/05 – Montreal, QC – Bar Le Ritz PDB

Publisher, CEO, and Co-Founder - Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.