During the years the band were at the height of their notoriety, Corby sludge fiends Raging Speedhorn left a trail of carnage in their wake so, when they announced their split a few years ago, there were plenty of venues and tour stops that probably breathed a huge sigh of relief. For the rest of us though, having lost the likes of Charger, Iron Monkey and Medulla Nocte, Speedhorn left another massive hole in the UK metal scene and it was one that the scene struggled to fill. So, after cementing their return last year with some brutal headline shows and festival appearances, fans have been clambouring to hear new material from the band.

Well, with support from those very fans and Pledge Music, the group have just dropped Lost Ritual and, as we’re talking about their first album in eleven years to feature original vocalists Frank Regan and John Loughlin, it’s fair to be expecting them to deliver an absolute banger. Thankfully, they’ve not held back on this one with songs like “Dogshit Blues” and “Bring Out Your Dead” seeing the Corby sluggers spewing up absolute fucking filth of the finest quality.

Punky, sludgy gobs of Motorhead and Sabbath-inspired riffs relentlessly batter you in the face while the front pairing of Frank Regan and John Loughlin spit and snarl at each other in suitably grubby fashion. As far as comebacks go, Lost Ritual couldn’t be a better return and you just get the feeling that somewhere Lemmy is looking down with a sly smile on his face as the Horn ramp it up a notch or two with the fantastic “Motorhead”.

Back in the day, Speedhorn were a loveable, drunken, obnoxious, loud train wreck of a band and that was a big part of their appeal. In 2016, the band are still pissed, they’re still loud, they’re still obnoxious and, listening to Lost Ritual, the band have given us ten reasons why we still love them and still need them in our music scene.

Lost Ritual Track Listing:

01. Bring Out Your Dead
02. Halfway To Hell
03. Motörhead
04. Evil Or Mental
05. Ten Of Swords
06. Dogshit Blues
07. Hangman
08. Shit Outta Luck
09. Coming Home
10. Unleash The Serpent

Run Time: 40:50
Release Date: July 15, 2016

Check out the track “Bring Out Your Dead”

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.