Bands like Cute Cute Death are two-a-penny these days and most of them end up in the pile to never really be heard of again. However, on Vessels, there is just enough where the band tear up the rulebook to make you sit up and take notice.

Of course, for a good percentage of the album Vessels is the kind of post-hardcore release where, if you’re a fan of the genre, you’re going to both love it but, at the same, not be surprised by it. Songs like “Red Lights” are raucous enough to keep you happy if you like groups that don’t mind shredding the shit out of their sound but, on the flipside of the coin, throw in massive dollops of epic-sounding melodies.

It may sound confusing but, when combined and blended together well, like I said earlier, Vessels makes you sit up and take notice. Basically, when the band want to they’re capable of bringing in some epic-sounding post-hardcore but, in the same breath, as they do on a track like “Dinosaur”, Cute Cute Death also don’t mind grabbing post-hardcore by the jugular and whipping up a right frenzy.

By leaning more towards the metallic end of the post-hardcore spectrum, Vessels does offer something for those who like things a little grittier, especially by dropping in some admittedly generic yet crushing breakdowns while, at the same time, tracks like “Butterfly” give those who like big, epic post-hardcore something to sink their teeth into.

Vessels Track Listing:

01. Vessels
02. Alarm
03. Pockets
04. Red Lights
05. Interlude
06. Butterfly Effect
07. Statues
08. Leave This City
09. Glass Eyes
10. Dinosaur

Run Time: 40:50
Release Date: May 13, 2016

Check out the track “DMT”


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.