Neil Young is a legendary living entertainer with countless accolades to his name. From singer/songwriter, producer/director, and even a screen writer, the Canadian born musician has lived a life entertaining the masses with his heartfelt melodies.

Young co-founded the American-Canadian rock band Buffalo Springfield in 1966, embarked on his solo career in 1968 and joined the super group Crosby, Stills Nash & Young in 1969. The seventy-year old 2X Hall of Fame inductee’s solo career has spanned over forty-five years and in that time Young has produced over thirty-five studio albums with his latest, entitled Earth, out now.

The album features thirteen tracks from various Neil Young albums. The live performances are from Young’s 2015 tour with Promise of the Real with Young having this to say about his latest release: “Earth flows as a collection of 13 songs from throughout my life, songs I have written about living here on our planet together,” and he continues, “Our animal kingdom is well represented in the audience as well, and the animals, insects, birds, and mammals actually take over the performances of the songs at times.” He is speaking on the animal’s sounds that were overdubbed into the songs.

Now, I get the message that Young is trying to put forth with the sounds, but, at times, it took away from the music. It does not make Earth a bad record but, for me, a lot of the time spent listening to this album involved trying to figure out what animal, bird or insect sound was protruding through the songs. All in all, an equally interesting and challenging concept, but one really only for the hardcore Neil Young fan.

Earth Track Listing:

01. Mother Earth
02. Seed Justice
03. My Country Home
04. The Monsanto Years
05. Western Hero
06. Vampire Blues
07. Hippie Dream
08. After The Gold Rush
09. Human Highway
10. Big Box
11. People Want to Hear About Love
12. Wolf Moon
13. Love & Only Love

Run Time: 98:00
Release Date: June 24, 2016

Check out the track “Mother Earth”