I remember catching Russian/UK deathcore mob Slaughter To Prevail opening for Hatebreed at my local venue about a year ago and being, if I’m honest, a little disappointed with their brand of deathcore. It could have been the muted crowd response or the fact that, as this EP demonstrates, if you play at the kind of speed Slaughter To Prevail play at, crystal clarity is an absolute must.

In fact, you only have to listen to this six-track (+intro) reissue of their EP Chapters Of Misery to realise that, underneath the grunting vocals and the brutal blast beats, there is a highly technical band who are clearly doing something right to be picked up by Sumerian Records. Obviously the spine of the band’s sound is punishing brutality and, as showcased on tracks like “Death” and “Hell”, they do that very well. However, underneath the filthy heaviness, Slaughter To Prevail inject in some complex and explosive bursts of noodling to give this relentless wall-shaking sound a real kick.

Thankfully, listening to this EP has wiped away the memory of that tough show last year so, if you’re a fan of technical deathcore and don’t own this EP, chuck some money their way and you won’t be disappointed. On the other hand, if you own it already you’ll know how good this band are so there probably isn’t enough to warrant a second purchase.

Track Listing:

01. Intro
02. Hell
03. Beast
04. Death
05. Misery
06. Crowned & Conquered
07. As The Vultures Circle (Bonus Track)

Run Time: 28:07
Release Date: May 6, 2016

Check out the new track “As The Vultures Circle” here.


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.