It’s hard to really get to grips with a band in just twelve minutes, but that’s what we’re dealing with in the case of Portsmouth metalcore newcomers Forever In Depths and their three-track release, Darkness.

Sadly, for now though, the three tracks herein don’t really offer anything to expand on the already bulging-at-the-seams metalcore scene. Crisp, crunchy guitars and a mix of clean and harsh vocals make up the bulk of the three tracks with Luke Boyle from fellow South coast shredders Saint [The] Sinner adding his dulcet tones on the title track. However, by the end of Darkness, it just seems that the EP misses that “WOW! factor” that could make this band shine rather than just blend in with the rest of the metalcore scene.

Track Listing:

01. The Storm
02. Darkness (featuring Luke Boyle)
03. Behind Our Eyes

Run Time: 11:17
Release Date: April 29, 2016

Check out the track “Darkness”


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.