Set for release on May 20th via Unique Leader Records, Dasein, the debut full-length from Canadian neoclassical-influenced tech death unit, First Fragment, flaunts a ferocious mesh of over-the-top drum tirades, complex neoclassical-influenced guitar work, boundless solo work, Flamenco and clean guitar passages, proggy death metal bass work and a varied dual vocal approach.

Captured at Humanoise Studios with Mathieu Marcotte (Augury, Humanoid) and mixed by Hugues Deslauriers (Augury, Defilementory, Vengeful etc.), the eleven-track offering features guest appearances from current and former members of Spawn Of Possession, Obscura, Inferi, Augury, and Elderoth, as well as artwork by Sam Nelson (Incandescence, Wayfarer, Stoic Dissention).

In advance of its release, First Fragment offers up fourth movement, “Émergence,” for public appreciation noting, “The track is an absolute monster and adequately describes what kind of music you’re in for. From the awesome guitar solo in the middle to the fantastic leads, this album is sure to knock your socks off if you’re a fan of the genre, and even more so if you’re already a fan of the band.”

Dasein Track Listing:

01. Le Serment De Tsion
02. Dasein
03. L’entité
04. Émergence
05. Mordêtre Et Dénaissance
06. Prélude En Sol Dièse Mineur
07. Archétype
08. Gula
09. Voracité (Apothéose, Partie 1)
10. Psychan (Apothéose, Partie 2)
11. Evhron

For more information, please visit:


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.