Silentium is the newest release from the Columbian extreme metal act Aggelos. After a brief, deceptively serene sort of intro this disc takes a sharp right turn becoming a monstrously heavy extreme metal record with a twist.

The surprise here, at least for me, is that the band incorporates a female vocalist who sound something along the lines of Simone from Epica. The contrasting black metal growls, operatic female vocals and symphonic soundtrack make this a very good listen. When it is heavy it is bone crushingly so, but it twists and turns so much creating a sonic tapestry that is refreshingly original with great riffs that are complimented perfectly by keyboards and other electronic programming.

From a production standpoint this is a terrific record as well, there are a lot of elements woven into these songs yet it never seems crowded or muddled; a testament to the engineer I suppose. Whatever the case is here, Aggelos offers up a real solid interesting and enjoyable listen for fans of extreme metal. Give this one a shot it is pretty good.

Track Listing:

01. Intro
02. Higuera Seca
03. Panis Vitae
04. Sententia
05. Noche Oscura
06. Ergo Factum Silentium
07. Vivente
08. Silencio

Run Time 33:53
Release Date: 29 January, 2016

Check out the track “Panis Vitae” here