The Prism Prize is thrilled to announce the Top 20 best Canadian music videos of the year, as voted by a jury of more than 120 Canadian music, film and media arts professionals. After viewing hundreds of music videos released in 2015, jurors selected the Prism Prize Top 20 based on originality, creativity, style, innovation and effective execution.

THE 2016 PRISM PRIZE TOP 20 (in alphabetical order):
A Tribe Called Red – Suplex (Director: Jon Riera)
Absolutely Free – Vision’s (Directors: Scott Cudmore and Michael LeBlanc)
Aidan Knight – All Clear (Director: Ft. Langley)
Alessia Cara – Here (Director: Aaron A)
Braids – Miniskirt (Director: Kevan Funk)
Daniel Romano – I’m Gonna Teach You (Director: Chad VanGaalen)
Death From Above 1979 – Virgins (Director: Eva Michon)
Drake – Hotline Bling (Director: Director X)
The Elwins – So Down Low (Director: Alan Poon)
Fast Romantics – Julia (Director: Matthew Angus)
Grimes – Flesh Without Blood (Director: Grimes)
Harrison – How Can It Be (Director: Maxime Lamontagne)
Kalle Mattson – Avalanche (Director: Philip Sportel)
Monogrenade – Le Fantôme (Director: Kristof Brandl)
Peaches – Rub (Directors: Peaches, A.L. Steiner and Lex Vaughn)
PUP – Dark Days (Director: Jeremy Schaulin-Rioux and Chandler Levack)
Shy Kids – Rockets (Director: Walter Woodman)
SonReal – For the Town (Director: Peter Huang)
Spek Won – Black Body (Director: Mark Valino)
Yukon Blonde – Saturday Night (Directors: Mac Boucher and Gaya Abdalian)

“This was the best year for Canadian music videos ever, and a Top Ten list just couldn’t capture all the talent,” said Louis Calabro, Director and Founder of the Prism Prize. “With the Prism Prize Top 20, we are proud to present a diverse group of incredible artists and their remarkable work.”

The Prism Prize Top Ten will be announced on Tuesday, March 22, 2016.

On Sunday, May 15, 2016 the Prism Prize Screening and Awards Presentation at TIFF Bell Lightbox will include a screening of the Top Ten videos, and award presentations including: the $10,000 Grand Prize for best Canadian music video of the year; the Audience Award (presented by Noisey Canada); the Special Achievement Award (presented by FYI Music News) for artistic achievements and exceptional world-wide contribution to music video art; and the Arthur Lipsett Award (presented by MuchFACT) for innovative and unique approaches to music video art.

All Prism Prize Award recipients, including the Grand PrizeAudience AwardSpecial Achievement Award and the Arthur Lipsett Award, will receive $2000 grants from William F. White for production equipment rentals, and an exclusive gift bag from MAC Cosmetics.

The Prism Prize is also happy to announce FYI Music News as Lead Sponsor of the Prism Prize with support for the Special Achievement Award and a post-screening celebration at the 2016 Prism Prize Awards Presentation.

FYI Music News is a daily newsletter focusing on the Canadian music industry, offering a tightly written digest of key events and news of the day in Canada and beyond, at the start of each workday.

We are very proud to have FYI Music News and Slaight Music onboard as a Lead Sponsor this year. These guys do so much for the music industry in Canada, it’s staggering. It’s an honour being associated with such a forward thinking organization.” said Louis Calabro.

Past Prism Prize winners for Best Canadian Music Video of the Year include Noah Pink for Rich Aucoin’s Brian Wilson is A.L.i.V.E (2013), Emily Kai Bock for Arcade Fire’s Afterlife (2014), and Chad VanGaalen for Timber Timbre’s Beat The Drum Slowly (2015).

Prism Prize is proud to host a comprehensive resource for music fans to watch the best Canadian music videos all in one place. Videos and news from Canada’s music video community are available throughout the year at • @prismprize •