The Skinny: “Venomous Spell of Fate,” a brand new track from Sacrilegium’s upcoming full-length comeback, Anima Lucifera, is now streaming above. Anima Lucifera was recorded in the autumn of 2015 at the Pomeranian North Studio. Mixing and mastering duties were undertaken by Nihil (Furia, Morowe, Massemord) at Czyściec Studio. The album will be available on March 18, 2016 via Pagan Records as a digipak CD, digital or gatefold LP.

Anima Lucifera is the second full-length release of the band, recorded almost 20 years after the release of their influential debut, Wicher (1996). The new album is decidedly more brutal and aggressive, yet at the same time not lacking the touch of melancholy which characterises Sacrilegium’s music. The musicians are convinced that with this album they have managed to include and release everything which has been stuck in them all these years.

The album title refers directly to a line from a poem by Leopold Staff; excerpts of which have been used in the new Sacrilegium tracks. Similarly, the works of W. B. Yeats and Ferdnando Pessoa appear next to Nantur’s original lyrics. The pagan spirt evolved from popular tradition in the direction of the esoteric school. Anima Lucifera explores occult themes, which accompanied the band members at the beginning of their journey in the 1990s. Today, however, their music is richer thanks to the experience they have gained over the last 20 years.

Anima Lucifera Track Listing:

00. Preludium
01. Heavenwings Shrugged
02. Angelus (Anima Lucifera)
03. Mare Tenebrarum
04. The Serpent Throne
05. … and Soul
06. Venomous Spell Of Fate
07. Desiderium Immortalis
08. Anima Lucifera
09. Epilog


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.