Signed to Mascot Records (Dine Alone Records in Canada), Canadian hard-rockers Monster Truck share a home with bands like Black Stone Cherry and Black Label Society, so you just know that their new album Sittin’ Heavy is going to be jam-packed full of big-hittin’ rock riffs. And it doesn’t disappoint!

Taking your head clean off with full throttle rock n’ roll, Sittin’ Heavy sets its intentions out right from the offset with the blistering “Why Are You Not Rocking” and, from that moment on, these Canadians have you by the balls. “Another Mans Shoes” and “The Enforcer” are also massive-sounding, fist-pumping rockers with energy and attitude seeping through every groove.

Elsewhere the band show their more gentler side as “Black Forest” breaks up this breathtaking display of flame-soaked rock. Sittin’ Heavy is a wall-shakin’, sweat-soaked demonstration of high energy rock and listening to the almost Sabbathesque wail of “To The Flame,” it’s obvious that sharing a home with Black Label Society certainly makes sense.

With a positive slant on the lyrical content and a musical direction that has been fine-tuned from treading the boards with rock icons like Slash and ZZ Top, Sittin’ Heavy is a classy lesson in hard rock from a band who, judging by the queue of hard rock legends heaping praise on the band, are certainly doing something very right.

Track Listing:

01. Why Are You Not Rocking?
02. Don’t Tell Me How to Live
03. She’s a Witch
04. For the People
05. Black Forest
06. Another Man’s Shoes
07. Things Get Better
08. The Enforcer
09. To The Flame
10. New Soul
11. Enjoy the Time

Run Time: 45:28
Release Date: February 19, 2016

Check out the track “Things Get Better” here.


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.