Dystopia, Megadeth’s 15th studio album, is easily one of 2016’s most anticipated heavy metal releases. Also a very important release for the group, the band’s recent roster changes are almost instantly noticeable (and for the better). With the addition of both Angra guitarist Kiko Loureiro and Lamb of God drummer Chris Adler, overall, Mustaine and Megadeth, I feel, have a huge injection of energy, not to mention the playing is crazy-tight!

“The Threat Is Real” gets things started and from there the band takes the listener on a high-energy ride for the remainder of the disc. For the most part, the songs are a touch slower and more melodic then “classic” Megadeth; you won’t find any all-out neck snapping thrashers, but you will find a solid, heavy and mature record. The tracks are hella-tight, loaded with razor-sharp riffs, and tons of melody – WAY more panache than their previous release, Super Collider.

Mustaine and Loureiro play off each other extremely well and, in the end, create something not necessarily better, but at least different than the collaborations with Broderick. Adler brings a whole new dimension to the table as well, adding a punch and an intensity not often found on a Megadeth record. Mustaine himself has never sounded so good and just rips through these eleven, finely-crafted bangers proving that, after 15 studio releases and numerous lineup changes, “business is good” and Megadeth are still as relevant as they were some 30 years ago.

This is definitely one of those releases that gets better as it progresses, with some of my favorite tracks coming later on in album. (Favourites include “Bullet to the Brain,” “Post-American World” and the instrumental track, “Conquer… or Die!”) Megadeth continue to cement their position as one of the “Big Four” and Dystopia certainly helps to bolster their spot.

Track Listing:

01. The Threat Is Real
02. Dystopia
03. Fatal Illusion
04. Death from Within
05. Bullet to the Brain
06. Post-American World
07. Poisonous Shadows
08. Conquer… or Die! (Instrumental)
09. Lying in State
10. The Emperor
11. Foreign Policy (Fear cover)

Run Time: 46:51
Release Date: January 22, 2016

Check out the song “The Threat Is Real” here.