Connect with us

Album Review

Innocence Mission – “Hello I Feel The Same” [Album Review]

If you’re looking for something a little outside the box or even something to relax with at the end of a long day, the ethereal sounds of Innocence Mission might be for you.



For those that have kept up with my reviews here at PureGrainAudio, you are aware that that I have a penchant for all things hard, heavy, dirty and crunchy. What you may not be aware of though is that there are times when I reach for something a little bit different and out of the ordinary to throw on the old turntable. By far, the non-heavy band that I have reached for more than any other since 1985 is the Pennsylvania folk rock act The Innocence Mission and, to this day, I still rank their disc, Umbrella, among my personal favorites.

Hello I Feel The Same is not groundbreaking but, at the same time, does not stray from the vibe of what they created on previous releases which, in a way, was comforting to hear. Putting on this record was like visiting an old friend; you pick up where you left off and you know pretty much what you are going to get, which in this case is ethereal, slightly off-center folk music led by vocalist Karen Peris.

Innocence Mission’s music is simple, melodic, and perfect for relaxing at the end of a long day with your favorite beverage in hand, perhaps contemplating the day’s events. Sometimes it is the simplest things that bring us the greatest pleasures and I do take great pleasure in listening to anything this band does. If you are looking for something outside-of-the-box, a bit artsy and avant-garde, check these guys out.

Track Listing:

01. Barcelona
02. Blue and Yellow
03. Daily
04. Fred Rogers
05. Hello I Feel The Same
06. Spring Is Written On Your Door
07. State Park
08. The Color Green
09. Tom On The Boulevard
10. Washington Field Trip
11. When The One Flowered Suitcase

Run Time: 33:47
Release Date: October 17, 2015

Check out the song “Hello I Feel The Same” here.